Love networking like it’s your best friend’s party!

Business Coaching is the most rewarding part of my work.  I love to see entrepreneurs in a new business start to grow and develop new confidence, building their dreams and achieving success.

Each time I start on the journey with a new entrepreneur, it’s like climbing into a roller coaster, the anticipation of success, charged with the fear of failure.  I support them to learn about business tools, and building their confidence, supporting them through the negative moments and self-doubt to reach a positive outlook.

I’ve been business coaching in various roles for the last 14 years, learning so much along the way.  My recent business coaching with new Forever Living businesses has shown that team work and enthusiasm can push beyond the boundaries that constrain negative attitudes. The fear of networking can be limiting and debilitating for a business.

The biggest, most consistent fear among all the ‘newbies’ is their fear of networking.  People who are usually reasonably confident, suddenly cringe at the thought of networking among a room full of people.

The fear of networking; is it a rational fear? Are we not all there for the same reason?

My reasons are simple, 1. To meet people; 2. To find customers; 3. To stay updated.

As I work through their support I share my basic tips for entrepreneurs to keep focused and enjoy networking.  Once they grasp it, their whole perception and participation rate changes.

  1. Change your mind-set: Imagine you are at your best friend’s party – be happy, friendly and interested.
  2. Be prepared, have your business card to hand and know your 30 second pitch, brilliantly.
  3. Be genuine, be you, don’t try to fit in, be proud of who you are.
  4. Work the room. Don’t fall into your comfort zone with someone and end up sticking with them, mingle, talk, agree to re-connect and move on.
  5. Make sure you take relevant contact details. The fantastic people will return to you.
  6. Remember everyone has a story to tell, including you. Make it relevant to your audience and keep it brief.

Admittedly, I’m not always so good at working the room.  I’m so fascinated by people that I stay too long with the first few I meet, wasting the opportunity to meet the others.  I’m improving though, keeping it consistent and not allowing my interest radar to distract, after all, I can find out more later.

Business is all about providing solutions for your customers.  For me this means helping people to find and talk to their customers, learning from them, supporting them to make the best possible decisions.  To do this they have to enjoy it, they must make networking their happy place, where they can showcase the business they love, their pride and joy.

I’m lucky, I’ve found my calling and it’s easy to rave about that.  My business is about helping others to build their business, and to make sure they have the passion and enthusiasm to thrive at networking.  Each one of my newbies will soon adapt to love networking like it’s their best friend’s party, and then they’ll learn how to pass those skills on!

Let me know if you’re ready to start up and get on the party circuit. I’ll be there to help you every step of the way.  Contact me for more information and to join my happy team www.true-ambition.myforever.biz

Leave a Reply

